Hayward T-15 Low Salt Reading After Acid Wash

CTX_Traveler

Jun 12, 2019
CT
Dear Salt Chlorine Generator forum -

I have 3 year old Hayward T-15 cell that I have been using trouble free at least for 3 years. A few weeks ago I learned that I need to acid wash it on annual basis which I have not done so :(. There were no build up that I could see on the cells.

So bought a cleaning stand, this morning followed the instruction, put the cable side on the top, poured 4:1 water to muriatic acid solution and left it for 10-15 minutes.

After reinstalling the cell, the salt reading only showed 2000 instead of 3200-3400 where it was before. The low reading automatically turned the generator off after a few minutes. Recalibrating the salt reading only shows the salt as high as 2200; then after a while will go back to 2000 again.

The voltage - 24.8 (also normal as usual)
Amperage 6.25 (also looks normal as usual)
Cell size somehow showed T-3 instead of T-15

- Is this a sign of a bad cell?
- Since the voltage and amperage still shows that it can still generate chlorine, is there a way to by pass the auto shutdown from false salt reading?
- Could this be coincidence that it happened after I acid washed the cell?
- How long is the warranty on the cell, the serial number starts with 3E16353-XXXXX

Thank you in advanced for the help!!

Have you tested the water itself for water content? I had the same problem this year with the salt cell. I did an acid was, then salt was low. Added to much salt based on reading from Aqua Logic. Checked salt reading by test strip, sure was too high. Need to test water, adjust salt, calibrate.

It was made December 18 2016 and it has a 3 year warranty.

Make sure that the tcell setting is correct. Check the actual salinity with a good test kit like a K-1766 test kit and then post all of the diagnostic readings.

Hi James and Alan -
Thank you for the quick reply. More updates...