Hayward Super Pump starting but not pulling water from skimmer (posting for friend)

sambot

Jun 1, 2018
WV
- - Posting for a friend - - not my pump

These are new pool owners BTW. Of course I am trying to teach them the ways of TFP ;)

Their pool pump will not draw from the skimmer. It is a Hayward Super Pump pictured here:
czhpdkP.jpg
lOViIfY.jpg

D7jNpTt.jpg

0jjzSUm.jpg

Info my friend's pool: 24,000 gallon oval pool with a deep end, Hayward Sand Filter
Not sure if they have a drain in the deep end - I would assume so? I have no experience with a deep end pool, mine is all the same depth across

I was told they tried turning on the pump without removing the skimmer/jet plugs (!!!) so I'm not sure if that messed up their pump.

We did try where you fill the pump up with hose water while it was running on recirculate and it did get water out of at least one of the jets. No action from the skimmer though.
They are trying to contact the previous owner of the house for more info on how he opened- no luck
They also reached out to a couple of pool companies to come look at the pump, one said $300 just to diagnose the problem, the other company said "we're too busy try another place"

One theory is that there is some kind of blockage in the line going into the pump from the skimmer.

Anyhow, what do you think? What kind of troubleshooting should we try? Is the pump dead from trying to start it with all the pipes plugged up?

Happy to clarify any of the language - I'm sure I'm miss-named some things lol

That pump looks a bit old, but let's keep some troubleshooting simple for now:
1 - Pool water level high enough about halfway up the skimmer?
2 - Poolside skimmer weir door moves freely and not stuck?
3 - All winter plugs removed?
4 - Pump strainer pot O-ring (under the clear lid) lubed well with silicone? Drain plug(s) at bottom of pump too?