FoundationGuy

Jan 5, 2023
New Orleans, LA
Hello,

I'm a Foundation Contractor and have a business partner that is having a Pool put in. Now I know regulations and requirements are different for pool foundations vs home/commercial foundations but this pool structure has us worried. My business partners wife has been watching/overseeing this project due to we are super busy running two other companies.

Well his pool was shot last week on the 28th and the same day this happened.

received_529079362324792.jpeg
received_1724279151299307.jpeg

It has happened in around 5-6 different locations. These two were the worst locations. Once again I know pools are not foundations of structures but these seem worrisome. What should be the recommendation? Because in my experience things like this will cause issues down the road.

When I talked with the contractor that is doing the pool for my business partner they stated this is normal. He will repair the issues with hydraulic cement and that that is a normal repair for this issue. My contractor has been in business 30 years and came with recommendations but I need help from other professionals in this field. I'm meeting with him Sunday to go over some of these issues with my business partner.received_458618589815141.jpegreceived_848772596399698.jpegreceived_878556323335367.jpeg

It looks bad.

Did it rain before, during or after the shell was shot?

You should have it core sampled and tested.

Can you see rebar in the concrete?

How thick is the concrete?

What is the psi specification?

What is the thickness specification?

Do you have a trusted concrete testing lab?

1672965412951.png

1672965550752.png

1672965647040.png

That is not normal.

Was gunite or shotcrete applied?

Do you have pics of the rebar work before the shotcrete/gunite was shot?

I would look behind the failed areas and see if rebar behind has been encapsulated as it should have.