Greetings TFP from Texas

singularity80

Aug 14, 2019
Rowlett, Texas, USA
I am a newer resident of the eastern edge of Dallas and bought a home with a pool. My first 45 days have been quite an experience with the pool, learning mostly and trying to manage a high stabilizer situation (around 90 in successive tests) and some trouble spots with algae which from what little I know so far is likely related to the high stabilizer. The pool itself is a 15K gallon curved edge bowl type, gunite, with an integrated spa/spillover. It looks decent when the pool is clean and running right. I don't particularly care for the VS-1 pump so far...it just seems very finicky but that could easily be due me not knowing enough. The previous owner left me no instructions and not even referring information on who was servicing the pool and equipment. I found who was by sheer accident.

So at least I have that, and week over week, things are "okay". My goal in being here is to learn more and get to a little better than okay.

Hello and welcome to TFP! :wave: This time of year it's good to have a pool. :swim: Let us know if you have any questions.
ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry
Test Kits Compared
Thanks. I want to do a fair amount of reading and searching before I get some questions out there, I imagine there's plenty to find here that's already been asked. My weekly water tests have shown most everything is in "good" ranges except for the aforementioned stabilizer.

Are you testing yourself or is someone else (pool store, service company) testing for you? If so what test kit are you using? It's very important that you perform your own tests from a quality test kit. Also, please fill out your signature with all the info you have on your pool.

As a fellow Texan from the DFW area, welcome to the forum.