Fresh fill - cloudy water?

TheCatLady

Apr 3, 2023
Romania
We've just had a Caldera Provence installed. While this is new, I have some experience with balancing the water in an inflatable tub.

I'll provide as many details as I can.

My first step was to fill and purge. Plenty of gunk got out. Also added About 2 tsp of dichlor when purging. Drained with a sump pump, vacuumed the jets, cleaned with hose and clean water, vacuumed water, refilled.

Fill water is from municipal tap and goes through a softener. Here are the measured parameters before I added anything:
Calcium hardness = 50 ppm (saltwater spa)
TA = around 250
Ph = 7.5
Last night we had an issue with the heater that was wired wrong and the circulation pump, so I've added 1 1/2 tsp of dichlor to kill whatever was still in there.

Fcl measured in the morning was about 5.39 ppm, so it maintained quite alright overnight. Tcl was 5.47

Today I've been doing the acid - aeration dance for half the day. Here is my end result:
TA = 90 (my plan is around 80, but I'll see how it goes, just got tired of the acid - aeration for today)
Ph = 7.4
Fcl = 4.36
Tcl = 4.42
And, here is my major surprise, CYA = 3

I mean...what gives? I've added 1 1/2 tsp of dichlor which should give me a CYA of more than 3, right? Is my dichlor expired or something? Or should I suspect my reagent tablets?

In theory everything looks good. In practice, the water is cloudy with a greenish tint. I've added some clarifier as well, but not much change. There's also some faint brown-ish residue at the waterline. I can wipe it easily with a sponge. Any idea what this could be? I don't know about metal content and don't have a reliable way to measure it, but could this be iron/copper?
20230409_155158.jpg
20230409_164230.jpg

Is this safe to bathe in? If not...what can I do? I don't have another water source and this is how it looks straight from the tap.

Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Probably metals in your water.