First time pool owner from Ohio

rarnold5000

Jul 21, 2022
Ohio
Hello everyone, I am glad I found TFP! Total pool noob here so I apologize in advance. We recently had a salt water pool installed (finished late March 2022). It is about a 22,000 gallon concrete pool running off of the Pentair system. The problem is the installers didn’t tell us hardly anything on how to maintain it besides test the water weekly with a test strip and dump in a full bag of Mineral Springs Renewal every week.
I adjusted the output of the SWG (IC-40) to 55% after the first couple of weeks because Ph was a little low. It has been consistent ever since.
My question is…is there something else we should be doing? The pool has been used almost daily since it was installed and it just seems like there should be more to it. I turned the lights to red, in honor of Stranger Things, the other night because my teenage sons were swimming and I saw all kinds of “stuff” floating around in the water that I can’t see during the day. The water is clear and gorgeous during the day but all of the stuff floating made me question is there something else I should be doing? Do I need to shock it?
Last month we disassembled the filter and cleaned out both of the internal filters. It was really bad due to the construction and the annoying cottonwood we have here in Ohio. We clean the pump filter and the skimmers regularly.
I don’t want to cause extra work but I also want it to be safe and sanitary. You would think after spending as much as we did on the pool they would have spent some more time explaining how to maintain it. I am not even sure what the Mineral Springs Renewal is or what it does.
I am in the process of watching the introductory videos on the site now. Thank you for any advice or teaching you can provide!

Welcome to the forum!
You said you add Mineral Springs Renewal -- read this thread -- What's in those Mineral Springs bags?