Fiberglass pool blackspot issue

Ora

Oct 5, 2022
Melbourne, Australia
Hi guys

Newbie here and recently moved into a new house with a Fiberglass pool. It was built in 2014. Mineral pool with chlorinators. Pump running 8 hrs/day.

As we recently moved in and found the poor seems a bit greenish and cloudy due to the recent heavy rain. After we thoroughly cleaned the pool, balanced the water and backwash the filter. We start noticing some black spots on corners and steps.

Added copper-based algaecide and shock the pool to raise chlorine to 10+PPM. The black spots keep spawning in multiple areas mainly at corners and steps. Always on floor, haven't found any on wall.

The black spot has a rounded head and can not be brushed out. Use my fingernail, barely scrape part of it. Now I am confused about whether it is black algae or osmosis stain.

Any suggestions about how to remove them are appreciated. Thanks in advanced.

Water test report: 8.Oct.2022
Total copper:0.5
1665332138214.png

IMG_20221007_164922.jpg
IMG_20221007_125610.jpg
IMG_20221007_125410.jpg
IMG_20221007_125519.jpg
IMG_20221007_125647.jpg

Welcome to TFP! :wave: Based on the use of copper-based products and a mineral system, you most likely are seeing the ill effects of copper staining. Copper produces some of the most difficult stains to treat, and the only way to remove copper from water is to exchange it, or exchange enough of it to not be a factor.

Be sure to bookmark our Pool Care Basics page and see the links below for more info. Let us knof if you have more questions. Enjoy the forum. :swim:

Reactions: borjis
Hi Texas,

Thanks for the suggestion. I have attach photo of the copper based algaecide I used perviously. I pour half litre of it to the pool

When the blackspot start appears, there is 0 copper in pool. The recent increase of copper in water test happens after I pour the algaecide.

Is there anyway that I can identify the black spot is a copper stain?

Thank you

algaecide.jpeg