Napa
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to pool maintance but looking to try and learn from everyone here and to try and avoid getting scammed by local pool store. I've been on the site before from googling issues that came up but really would like to deepen my knowledge.

The pool is a 22,000 gallon salt water pool in Napa, CA. Its a second home so I don't always have eyes on it and its been kind of a pain to maintain from a distance and only being up there 2-3 weekends a month. Since I got the place the old salt water generator died and was replaced with a Pentair Intellichlor IC-40 about 2 years ago. I then upgraded to Pentair Intelliflo VSF pump (to save on electric bills from the old single speed pump) and also upgraded to Pentair Screen Logic/Easy Touch (for remote control) 1 year ago.

Most recently the WaterGuru device that the prior owner used crapped out (from 2019), and I was researching other automated testing systems only to discover that the general opinion of these, including Sutro or Pentairs Chem-Check). Previously I essentially used the water Guru device to keep daily tabs on the pools pH and free chlorine, adjusting the SWG remotely as needed, and adding acid periodically when I was on site. I also went to local pool store (Leslies) for periodic testing and help when I was opening pool for the season. I plan on getting a Taylor kit or TFP kit recommended here to perform more careful testing of the pool but I'm not sure what to do when I'm not on site as I'd still like to be able to see whats going on when I'm not around. I'm considering buying a replacment WaterGuru for this purpose but wonder if any other pool owners who aren't always around have ideas? Maybe I just need to hire a pool company to do it?

Hiring a pool company will just make your job harder to figure out what they messed up and fix it.