Expected chlorine output of a cell? 2ppm?

Jun 12, 2013
Buffalo, NY
I'm struggling w/my chlorine level lately and suspect my salt cell (10yrs) may be going. I inspected it yesterday and as always it looks perfectly normal to my laymen eyes. Gave it a thorough cleaning with the hose and reassembled.

Today I tested my pool water and it's at 3ppm FC. Put the SWG to 'boost' and captured the water coming from a stair return - this tested at 5ppm FC. I've never done this before so I don't know what is expected. Is a 2ppm increase directly from the cell normal?

I have no error message or anything else out of the ordinary; how do I know when it's time to get a new cell?

Thank you!

Argh - I just retested the original pool water and this time I got 5ppm. I retested four more times because I don't know how I could be off by 4 drops of R0871 and was able to repeat, so it looks like pool water and boosted return water is the same.

My water is slightly cloudly - I put in 1.5 jugs of 12% shock 2 days ago and it's down to 5ppm so it appears something is working on my FC. I will add another 1.5 jugs now and keep the filter running 24/7 to shock and get it clear.

Should I try troubleshooting this cell or should I consider myself lucky to have gotten 10 Buffalo summers out of it?

cb,

10 years is a long time for a cell... But, before I bought a new one I'd make sure I could pass an OCLT.. (cell off of course..)

Once I could pass the OCLT, I would run the same OCLT test, but this time with the Cell running all night at 100%.. The difference between last test at night and the first test in the morning tells you how much chlorine your cell is producing.

Thanks for posting,

Jim R.