Equipment Renovation/Revision in SE PA

df.pa.2112

Silver Supporter
Nov 2, 2018
Philadelphia, Pa
Hello

Bought a home last year with a 22k IG plaster pool with elevated spa. The pool was in fairly good condition as far as plaster went but hadn't had much use or care the last few years. Being a total newbie to pools and through online videos and generous help on this forum I was able get things up and running, maintain it and ultimately close it on my own last year. Lots and lots of trials and tribulations but overall it looks to have been a success.

As I prep for opening this year the neglected and dysfunctional equipment is on my list to get done. The pool had 3 pumps, the main was a rusty pentair 1.5hp, the 'accessory' (floor jet/cleaner pump) and the booster pump didn't work at all. The electric panel and timers are rusty and just need to go. I was able to purchase an intelliflow pump last year for the main and hooked it up at the end of the year to verify that it worked OK. After that I closed and things have been idle.

I am planning to get and possible install an 8 channel easy touch system. and possibly a SWG system to go along with it. Since I need to do some work on the plumbing (at least the above ground portion) I figured I would post here to see if anyone has thoughts/recommendations.

As it stands right now the suction on the pool and elevated spa run through the main pump only and controlled with Jandy valves. Since they aren't working and I am not likely to need them I am planning on removing the accessory cleaner pump and the booster.

In the next post I will include a few pictures of the equipment layout. The questions that come to mind before I finalize my plan are

1) I am fairly handy, is the Easy Touch something I should tackle or hire out?
2) Should I try to split up the plumbing for the pool and spa? Not sure this is entirely possible or a good idea but worth a thought.