NJ
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-60 Plus
I've been reading quite a bit in here, probably too much! Thanks to everyone for the insights they provide. We purchased a house with this pool several years ago and I've managed to get by using some combination of tabs and bleach as needed. I tested maybe 1x/week and always had small bouts with algae but generally kept the pH and FC in line with where they needed to be (used an older Taylor 5 way test kit).

Since I have added in a decent amount of bleach (8 gallons) and the FC barely budged, I figured there was a CYA problem and decided it's time I follow more of what you all are doing. I got a TFT 100 test kit and the readings showed CYA of 0 and FC of 0.5. The TA (90) and pH (7.8) are a tad on the high side, but the problem is no CYA. I have ordered some stabilizer and plan to put 8lbs in the pool (using a sock) before adding more bleach to raise the FC. Since this is my first time following the pool math app, am I missing anything? Thanks!

With no CYA the chlorine disappears extremely fast from the sun. So you want a minimum CYA of 30. Get stabilizer soaking in a sock then start squeezing it all out in about 30 min. I just did that last night myself. Add chlorine right away to about 5 ppm. If you find the FC still disappearing quickly, don't add anymore stabilizer, just let us know.

Reactions: Mdragger88
With no CYA the chlorine disappears extremely fast from the sun. So you want a minimum CYA of 30. Get stabilizer soaking in a sock then start squeezing it all out in about 30 min. I just did that last night myself. Add chlorine right away to about 5 ppm. If you find the FC still disappearing quickly, don't add anymore stabilizer, just let us know.
Thanks. Stabilizer is on order and will hopefully get here this weekend. I'll be sure to have chlorine ready to go as well so that I can see if the FC bumps up and doesn't disappear right away.