Confused About CYA

JiggyG

Jan 7, 2023
Ormond Beach, FL
This is my first time using this site, so please forgive if I do something wrong. I’m a relatively new fiberglass pool owner and have been thrown to the wolves with staining issues which nobody can seem to help me figure out. Most agree that they look like iron stains, but I have done citric and AA treatments as well as over the counter stain removers with only very limited results. One of the last “experts” I consulted told me to discontinue using liquid chlorine because that would stain my pool and to use two tablets per week of the stabilized chlorine instead. When I asked him about the residual CYA problems from using only the tabs, he didn’t seem to understand what I was asking. I went against everything I had read about to follow his “expert”advice only to watch my pool stains grow exponentially worse almost overnight. When I tested, my CYA was around 100. I began dumping/refilling my pool and got the CYA down to 40 and returned to using liquid chlorine daily. However, now the liquid chlorine isn’t held in the pool very long by the stabilizer. I’m so confused about how to do this correctly. Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to TFP.
So happy that you went back to using LC. Is your FC relatively stable or is dropping drastically after you add LC?
A CYA of 40ppm should hold your FC somewhat stable for a while. Maybe do a test, then add LC and then test 45 mins later after letting it circulate.
What test kit are you using? Can you post a full set of test results as follows
FC
CC
CH
TA
CYA
pH
You mention FG pool. What is the volume?

Welcome to the forum.

Good on you to ditch this "expert's" advice - if they didn't understand what you were talking about, then there can't have been too much expertise.