Complete beginner, have the test kit, pool is open, now what?

I have the Pool school book, and read it but a little overwhelmed. I also have the TF100 test kit, which just arrived this week.

First dumb question: what do I collect the water in? Just a glass jar, plastic cup, bucket???

I had the pool folks open the pool this year as they had some other stuff to do (install stairs, etc). The water was not green or anything, but had rainwater and dirt from the last 6 months. They vacuumed and scrubbed the sides.

They did the initial water analysis 5 days ago and report the following:

FAC: 0
TC: 0
CC: 0
PH: 7.8
Total Alk: 81
Calcium Hardness: 125
CYA: 9

“Water Blance Recommendations:

• PH is high - add 2.75 lb of GLB pH Down (did not do)
  • calcium hardness is low - add 17.5 lb of GLB Calcium Hardness Up (did not do)
  • CYA is low - add 2 lb of GLB stabilizer (did not do)
  • Add 3 pounds of shock (“ GLB SuperSonic is a highly effective multi-purpose product that sanitizes, clarifies, prevents algae and shock treats your pool” - wife did this)

“Sanitizer system recommendations:

• Free available chlorine is low - shock the pool using an appropriate shock product and add 2 GLB Large 3” tablets (did not do)
  • Remember to add 2 GLB Large 3” tabs every week or so (did not do)

“Oxidizer Recommendations:

• Remember to add 16-32 oz GLB Supersonic weekly (did not do)

My initial test using the K-1000 showed undetectable chlorine and pH of 7.8

I’m not sure I need to SLAM, because the water is pretty good looking and the pool is not dirty.

1. Do I need to SLAM?
2. If so, is the process: 1. Raise CYA to at least 30 ppm; 2. Lower pH to 7.2; 3. Add liquid chlorine (bleach)
3. If I don’t need to slam, I still think i need to add CYA and lower pH a little, then add chlorine.

Am I on the right track? I’m having trouble knowing where to start.