Closing and Metal Stain

Tired_Pool_Owner

Oct 18, 2019
South Dakota
Hello -
Long time reader and first time poster.
This summer I was alerted to a pool stain that came from my shock. It is a metal stain and I have battled on and off with adding stain remover once my chlorine was near 0. It has had mixed results as you can see from the images.
I am closing the pool in a couple of weeks and wondered if it made sense to add more stain remover to the pool and have it circulate for a bit now, or, when we open the pool in the summer.
See images and please advise. I have been fighting with this stain for a few months now.
Stain remover: Amazon.com : Essential Values 2 Pack Swimming Pool & Spa Stain Remover (4 LBS Total) - Natural & Safe, Works for Vinyl Liners, Fiberglass, Metals - Removes Rust & Other Tough Stains Without Harsh Chemicals : Garden & Outdoor
20191017_173158.jpg

20191017_173226.jpg

Welcome! :wave: Much of what you are asking depends on several factors. After all, treating with a stain remover won't do much if the metal content or reason for staining is still there. So here are some things to consider:
1 - Where is the source of staining coming from? Do you fill from a well (iron), or have you used pool store chlorinating products and algaecides that contain copper?
2- Have you tested those stains to confirm if they are iron (Vitamin C tablet), copper (rubbing dry acid in a sock), etc?
3 - What are your current test results from either a TF-100 or Taylor K-2006C. We know if the pH and/or FC are not controlled it can increase staining.