Chlorine won't hold in my pool / high CYA level

jojomo

Jun 6, 2018
Gilbert, AZ
Hi, I'm a newbie here and I've done quite a bit of research before posting.

Here's my question, I live in Arizona where the temperature reaches 105-110°F on a daily basis right now and I'm having a heck of a time keeping chlorine in my pool and I have a feeling its because of high CYA levels and not adding enough chlorine.

After having gone through a couple pool guys, who apparently had no idea what they were doing and did not help at all, we decided to take care of our pool ourselves.

Here are the specs

12,390 gallons
Pool water temp - 86°
CYA - 150 (which I know is extremely high)
pH - 7.2
FC - 0.5

We run the filter for 12 hours minimum - Water is clear / no sign of algae

I've switched to using liquid chlorine 10% instead of tabs / shock because i didn't want to add anymore CYA or calcium to the pool (since water is already hard) but even after using 1 Gallon at night time on a daily basis, the pool is still not holding the chlorine. I know its recommended to use A LOT more chlorine in order to shock it effectively but I'm super worried about reaching and maintaining such a high FC level and honestly I don't feel comfortable adding more because I'm worried it may have a negative effect on us (especially my 8 year old) when we are swimming.

So my question is, why do all the sites say that one shouldn't swim in a pool with FC level of 3ppm+ when I keep reading the opposite with high CYA levels?

I know I should theoretically drain the pool and refill (and trust me, I would do this!!! but it's not recommended to do so in the summer, am I correct?) It feels like we are stuck right now and I'm not sure what to do!!!

Any advice would be super appreciated at this point! :)
Thank you so much.

So my question is, why do all the sites say that one shouldn't swim in a pool with FC level of 3ppm+ when I keep reading the opposite with high CYA levels?