Chlorine Tablets ok?

Why would someone do an SWG when chlorine injector systems like that are available? The self contained dosing system you linked to is maybe half or a third the cost of an SWG and I have to imagine a handful of 5 gallon jugs of chlorine a year is the same or cheaper than a salt cell every few years. It seems like a no brainer to me, but I'm new at all this and don't know any better.

Because a pool of your size at 3ppm would be about 1.5 gallons per day of 6% bleach (long half life) or about a gallon per day of 10% (short half life). You are hauling 30-45 gallons of bleach per month during your highest demand times. The reason for the SWG is convenience. And its a BIG reason. Smaller pools don't have as big a bleach requirement and less jugs to haul.

bleach stablilty.jpg

What do you mean shock as in a product not a process? Is shock also a no-no here on troublefreepools.com?

The tablets have CYA too. The only way CYA ever goes down is via water dilution. So you do not need to be consistently adding CYA (which is what the tablets do). Since you already bought the tablets I would say they would be okay to use if you need to raise your CYA too. If you have giant bucket of tablets you may want to sell it via craigslist, facebook market, etc.

I learned this all the hard way.I do credit tablets as the reason I found TFP. Bought a house with a pool, went to pool store, bought 25 lbs of tablets, CYA got absurdly high, discovered TFP, haven't used a single tablet since (6 moths ago). In fact, I just listed 24 lbs of tablets on craigslist.