Chlorine Tablets Dispensers

RodRamos

In The Industry
Jul 24, 2019
Trinity, Florida
BACKGROUND: Hello, as I mentioned in previous threads I'm very new to pool chemical and maintenance and I'm really loving these forums. Everyone is so helpful and I'm currently going through the Pool School articles. There is one thing I never see mentioned, those floating chlorine tablets dispensers. The reason I'm asking is after I get my pool chemistry balanced (so very close) I plan on adding some convenience upgrades. We already upgraded the pump, added a skimmer, added valves and will maybe even hard plumb the system. I came across an in-line chlorine tablet feeder. Thought it might be nice to have instead of the blue and white bobbing floater. When I started working on my pool chemistry someone asked me to remove it from the pool. I wasn't sure if they meant permanently or just while I get the chemistry right.

SHORT STORY: So what is the general consensus in reference to the chlorine tablet dispensers?

Thank you.

NO
[edit]
Tablets add CYA and lower pH. Only use them when you can't dose with chlorine manually. If you set your CYA manually, then you know how much FC you need. If you add it via pucks, it goes up and all of a sudden you don't know how much FC you need unless you test CYA frequently.

Tablets increase CYA stabilizer which after the designated point (look at the CYA/FC free chlorine chart on this site) is bad. If you keep it on the low end for your pool doing the normal TFP methods, then usage during vacations, etc is allowed.

You probably should just plan on a floater because is you do TFP then you won't be using many Trichlor tabs anyway.

Reactions: MyAZPool