Can't get chlorine level to rise. What am i doing wrong?

Yaguci

Jun 1, 2020
Northborough, MA
Total newbie here. First week of owning a wading pool, summer wave 10' x 30". (1072 gal)

Filled it up with tap (city) water on Monday. It's 3rd day today. Local pool supply store recommended and sold me Omega Super Shock (12.5% sodium chloride). However, I keep adding this stuff but can't get chlorine to register on the testing strips. Every time it's "white".

What am i doing wrong?

I have the app, subscribed, and keeping a log of everything so far.

Thank you for any assistance.

Welcome to the forum!
You may want to consider following Seasonal Pools
You do need a drop based test kit. Something like a 5 way test kit from Walmart or Home Depot. Strips are worthless.

Thank you for the feedback. TF100 is out of stock everywhere, so I ordeter the Taylor K-2006. It will arrive on Monday. Since its a new fill, in assuming I'll need conditioner first. So you recommend liquid or solid? I have 1000 gal, AG vinyl, with tiny pump. 600 gph, I believe. I'll replace it soon. I ordered a 1000 gph pump already.

TF100 is only available through TFTestkits.net.

I assume you decided to not follow the Seasonal Pool process.

Solid CYA granules will work. Put them in a sock to dissolve.

Your chlorine level could actually be high and bleaching out your test strips making it appear that you have none. While you wait for a test kit, try doing a dilution of your sample with tap water to determine if it is bleaching your strip

Reactions: Mike1162