Can someone explain to me how pool stores are working their water tests results?

rbwamsley

Mar 28, 2022
Houston, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I'm new to testing my water myself. Previously I was going my local pool store (not one that uses accublue) and getting my water tested. Their results always showed my chlorine levels on a scale where "target levels" are between 2-4ppm. Is the pool store adjusting their scale they show based on the CYA in the water or is their thought process that your chlorine level should be 2-4ppm no matter what your CYA is?

FC/CYA Levels

rb,

The do not tie the FC level and CYA level together at all. In their minds, CYA has nothing to do with your FC level.

That is one main difference between TFP and pool store philosophy.

Thanks,

Jim R.

rb,

The do not tie the FC level and CYA level together at all. In their minds, CYA has nothing to do with your FC level.

That is one main difference between TFP and pool store philosophy.

Thanks,

Jim R.

This is amazing to me.

I have to say this forum is eye opening experience.

Another thing, reading what I have so far, and I’m just breaking the surface, I don’t understand how pool services even begin to work… I guess they just shock the heck out of the pool all the time? Then at the end of the week, the levels begin to break down and then the shock the heck out of it again.

Reactions: Newdude
Basically, yes. Shock and hope for the best on top of dumping all sorts of other garbage you don't need into the water because the water isn't balanced to begin with. Pool stores are the only reason why products like Baquasil get any traction - people have an idea in their heads that chlorine pools are complicated, smell bad, and hurt your skin and hair because pool stores have everybody's pool jacked up.