Be Kind - Brown Water & I’m stumped

Grammy1109

Jun 25, 2022
Michigan
History: I’m new to pool ownership so please forgive me.
Kids were itching and got rashes from pool. I tested the water and the Alkalinity and PH didn’t even register. I had the water tested and the store stated I needed 25 lbs of sodium bicarbonate (baking soda). The water was clear prior to adjusting. As soon as I put in the first cup full of the baking soda, the water turned a brownish/orange. I’ve since added 55 lbs and the alkalinity is within a normal range. I’ve also started borax as the ph is still a tad low. My chlorine level is a bit high; 5. Water is still discolored but oddly enough only looking at it in the pool. When I pull out the water for testing it’s clear. 🤦🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️
HELP? Any thoughts or ideas?
My pool is 44,000 gallons.

The experts will be here soon. Do you have a good test kit?

Test kits:
TF-100

There's also a Taylor K-2006 that is good too.

I highly recommend the pool math app. I've had the app for a year and I test and input and it tells me what I need to add.

I know it probably seems overwhelming but the experts will help you so you can manage your pool on your own and no need to go to a pool store to run tests. Your pool will get clear. Hang in there.

Last edited:
Wow! That is the very definition of what we mean when we say someone got "pool stored".

I have no idea why the baking soda would have caused your pool water to turn brown like that. But someone will be along shortly to tell you and what to do about it.

In the meantime, go ahead and get one of the tests ordered like Bug suggested. BTW, it's a K-2006c or TF-100 that you'll need. This is an absolute must for us to be able to help you.

Test kits:
TF-100

I highly recommend the pool math app. I've had the app for a year and I test and input and it tells me what I need to add.