Add stairs to InGround pool

BEIT

Oct 31, 2021
Ilderton, Ontario
Hi there.. newbie here to this site and pool ownership. Have become the proud owner of a 14' x 28' Oval pool with liner and plastic coping (Hayward). It's single depth of about 4' and has above ground pool stairs which are submerged with 4 sandbags. Just closed the pool with the previous owners help and it all went fine, but I'm starting to think about the spring project. This pool was 100% installed and built by owner and I'm also planning my own pool automation (RaspBerry PI) so have the winter to plan. It's a Salt Water pool.

I'm looking to see if it's possible to dig at one of the round corners and replace the corner steel framing with an Inground set of stairs and can this be done without a full liner replacement. Hoping there is a way to remove the steel section and retrofit in the stairs and somehow the liner can be made to seal with the stairs newly inserted. The winter cover I'm hoping would then fit still the oval with possibly a cover over the stairs to keep the winter out.

I've been able to find photos of the stairs, but there are no instructions I've found on retrofitting them or more details on how they connect to the existing steel that makes up the pool shell. I don't really want to change the liner just to install stairs, but if that's necessary then I could potentially plan this if the liner should need replacing... trying to see how plausible it is before I give up on things. The pool was built and put into operation in 2015 so it's around 6 years old.

Thanks for any help / feedback in advance.

Attached photos of the current pool as well as the "sample" of the stairs I have in mind.

IMG_4194.JPGpool.jpgDoughboy-Step-20.jpg

You should wait that you need to replace the liner and do similar integrated steps like I did to mine. Look much more high end.
Have a look in my build Inground 1994 Pool Renovation