Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

  1. Back To Top    #1
    lulupalooza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Evans, GA
    Posts
    323

    HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Ok, so I totally give up on the polaris 65. It's a piece of junk. So, today I tried to manually vaccum the pool. I hook up everything and have my son put the filter to waste and well. NOTHING. There was no suction coming from the in the pool, thorough the vaccum hose. And there was no water inside the pump primer housing (not sure what that thing is called) So we turned it off.

    I suspect that maybe there isn't enough pressure to be able to suck the water out though the house and to the pump/filter???

    I know whats going to happen this weekend. That plastic hose **** they call pool pluming is gone. I am going i/g style!
    *~ Laura ~*
    27x52 Aquasphere Conquest AGP (approx.17,100 gal)
    1 HP Pentair Dynamo Pump & SD-40 Sand Filter
    TF-100 Test Kit
    BBB User- Salt Added

  2. Back To Top    #2
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Your pump lost prime. Prime it again (do you know how to do that?)

    Then, with your vacume head/hose under water, hold the other end of the hose up to the return, forcing all the air out of the hose. YOu'll see the air bubbles coming out of the vacume head. It will begin to subside and the head will drop back down. Keep the vacume hose under water, and make the connection to the vacume port (mine is my skimmer) be sure to keep the hose under water or you will lose prime.
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Also make sure you have the right end on the vacuum head - some hoses have one end with a swivel cuff, that's the end to put on the vac head, it can draw air through the swivel if used in the skimmer.
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  4. Back To Top    #4
    lulupalooza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Evans, GA
    Posts
    323

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Thanks ya'll I am going to try a different approach tomorrow. Instead of using the adapter plate, I am going to try screwing the hose and adapter to the hole in the skimmer and see if that helps.

    FPM- I had the hose completely submerged and made sure it was completely filled with water before quickly putting it in the skimmer. Priming the pump housing wouldn't help. I think for one the way our system is set up is poor. That is why we are going to go ahead and hard plumb this weekend.

    Waste- I will check the hose end. Very well I could of put it on backwards. I got so p-o'd that I left everything in the pool.
    *~ Laura ~*
    27x52 Aquasphere Conquest AGP (approx.17,100 gal)
    1 HP Pentair Dynamo Pump & SD-40 Sand Filter
    TF-100 Test Kit
    BBB User- Salt Added

  5. Back To Top    #5
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Quote Originally Posted by lulupalooza
    Thanks ya'll I am going to try a different approach tomorrow. Instead of using the adapter plate, I am going to try screwing the hose and adapter to the hole in the skimmer and see if that helps.

    FPM- I had the hose completely submerged and made sure it was completely filled with water before quickly putting it in the skimmer. Priming the pump housing wouldn't help. I think for one the way our system is set up is poor. That is why we are going to go ahead and hard plumb this weekend.

    Waste- I will check the hose end. Very well I could of put it on backwards. I got so p-o'd that I left everything in the pool.
    Sorry you are having such a hard time with it....good luck!
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Coastalish 'down easter'
    Posts
    4,160

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Laura, if you need any help on hard piping it, just let me know and I'll talk you through it - be sure to include unions/ quick disconnects!
    Luv& Luk
    -Ted

    Having done construction and service for 4 pool companies in 4 states starting in 1988, what I know about pools could fill a couple of books - what I don't know could fill a couple of libraries :-D

    POOL SCHOOL, TF Testkits, Jason's Pool Calculator, CYA vs. cl chart, (Just a few DARNED handy links!)

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    You mentioned that you turned the filter to Waste. This is an old posting, but I'm curious as to why not just leave it on Filter. I do this as I thought this to be what is proper. Could this be your problem, or am I doing it wrong?

  8. Back To Top    #8
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: HELP! Can't vaccum my pool :(

    Vacuming to waste allows the dirt on the bottom of the pool to bypass the filter medium, so you don't then have to clean the filter. Some types of filters don't have this option....mine doesn't. Depends on the system. You also lose alot of water when vacuming to waste. To each his own!
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •