question on winter operations for inground w spillway Texas

Jul 11, 2012
Dallas, Texas
All,

This is my first year owning a pool specs are below. My question is we have a spa that is a spillway into the pool, so we can't close the pool if we want to use the spa (or maybe I am wrong, but don't think so). What do I need to do, if anything in prep for winter. I am in the DFW (sothern suburbs) area and there is a mix of folks who close their pools and folks who don't of course the winter is very short and sometimes is not much of a winter at all.
So if I plan on using the spa in Dec/Jan/Feb etc...is it just operations as normal? Can someone help with advice?

Thank you...

Re: question on winter operations for inground w spillway Te

I actually have the same question, so I'm hoping someone answers.

My plan is to close, but not cover the pool. Then make sure all the numbers are in spec at least a week prior to when I plan on using the spa.

I do have the luxury of being able to set the valves so that all the water is only flowing to/from the spa.

Most if not all people in Texas keep their in ground pool running year round.

People do decrease their pool run times since its not as hot but aside from that its business as usual.

Personally I just kick on the spa an hour before I want to use it and its ready when I get in.

Also your system should have a freeze guard and that will kick the pumps on if temps get close to freezing.

North of Dallas here and we keep it open year round. If we want to do some winter hot tubbing we just fire it up like Cajun and step in after an hour. Or if we want to burn through a lot of money we heat the pool itself.

The system automatically runs the water features and main pool/spa pumps when the air temperature drops below 39°F. That's all the freeze protection you need in this area.

Keep your pool open, keep chemicals in it, and amke sure that the pump is running during times that it is expected to freeze.