Austin's Newest Swimming Hole

Jul 16, 2018
Austin, Tx
Hi TFPers,

We broke ground on our IG pool in mid-June, so we're right in the middle of the "giant mess" phase. Completion date in contract is 8/30 but PB says we're moving along pretty quick and might be swimming before that, fingers crossed.

Received bids from a few PBs ranging from large, nationally known companies to local family-owned. Ultimately chose the small local company based on personal recommendations even though price was slightly higher, and have been really happy so far. Didn't find TFP until after we'd signed the contract when I went looking for info on pool chemistry (I'm a chemist by training and have enjoyed geeking out over everything on the site!), there's a lot I wish I'd known before signing the contract but ultimately I'm still happy with our design, equipment, and specs. I think we ended up getting lucky with a good builder - some of the PBs we ended up not choosing wanted to add stuff like in-line chlorinators, ozone, or in-floor cleaners that TFP has taught me were bullets we dodged without even knowing it.

Only thing I might've done differently was take a harder look at the SWG before passing on it. Our PB actually recommended it but we chickened out after talking to a bunch of neighbors who have them and used the same soft Oklahoma stone coping that we're using, and they're having all sorts of corrosion issues. Our PB said that could be addressed by regularly sealing the stone but that sounded like a headache we wanted to avoid. So, I'll be adding bleach myself every day, if we change our minds and want an SWG later I guess I can always add it.

Here's the design (© our PB) and some details on the build, I'll add some photos in the next post showing progress so far.
35870735_10156612593504974_6735022698864312320_n.jpg

Specs:
Freeform pool, approx. 85' perimeter, 436 sqft area, 17'x31'