What is the benefit of using bleach vs pucks?

Jul 25, 2015
Lodi, CA
I am relatively new to TFP methodologies. Prior to re-plastering our pool in November2017, we had used pucks in a floating dispenser. My husband took care of the pool and I knewnothing about caring for it. Since there-plaster, I have taken over the care and have turned to TFPC. My numbers are perfect (aside from the pH whichneeds continual adjusting due to the curing plaster), the water is sparklinggorgeous, but I need to add, on average, a 128-ounce jug of bleach everyday. My understanding is thatsubscribing to TFPC ways is less expensive than the alternatives. However, a jug of bleach is approximately$3.00. Multiply that by 180 days (closeto six months) and that is $540. Asix-month supply of pucks from Costco is at most $80.00. Aside from the issue with the accumulation ofCYA from the pucks, using the pucks seems to be more cost effective as well asless labor intensive (compared to having to constantly purchase jugs of bleachand pour into the pool each day). It’s true I am not using other chemicals otherthan Muriatic Acid, so perhaps that keeps the cost down, but a $460 differencebetween pucks and bleach in a six-month period is significant. Am I missing something here?
My chemical numbers are:
FC 6-7
pH 7.4
TA 90
CH 300
CYA 40
CC 0
Temp 84.4 F

Our temperatures have been around 100 degrees and we haveno swimmers.

Please advise/enlighten!

Thank you.

:wave: Welcome to TFP!

The buildup of CYA is the major disadvantage of relying on pucks. So you have to include costs of water replacement in its budget.