Newbie wants to be sure I'm on the right track

Steve Bee

Bronze Supporter
May 22, 2018
Ontario Canada
Hi everyone,

First post.

I'm a complete newbie to pools and am working my way up to opening this weekend on my new pool.

I've read all my manuals, and want to be sure I'm doing the right sequence:

I pulled winter cover, filled, and done some "shocking" or "slamming", but to be honest, I haven't tested yet. Just dumped some bleach in and running the pump to start killing stuff. I have skimmed it and vacuumed it to a decent cleanliness level and done a backwash.

I am now ready to start getting levels up to snuff before firing up the SWG and heater.

Here are my questions:

1. The SWG manual says that I have to bring the pool up to appropriate levels before turning on the SWG. I assume I do this with traditional bleach/chlorine etc..

2. My father in law who owned a non-heated chlorine AG pool for many years, dumped the bleach into the skimmer. I have since read this was bad for my heater as the bleach water was pretty concentrated as it hit the heater pretty quickly in the cycle. I really hope he didn't mess it up!

3. The salt cell that was installed was either cracked by the installer (Hayward T CELL 5), or had a factory defect and sprung a leak. Pool company replaced with GLX (which is new model #). The GLX has a big red tag that says to start the control unit before plugging the cell into the control unit that the TC5 did not. Anyone know why this? I had plugged (but not started) the old TC5 in, so I am hoping this isn't an issue either.

Any other tips would be appreciated! I know I have to get a "proper" test kit for enduring value, but can I get the ball rolling with the cheap-o strips supplied by Aquatrol? I want to open asap.

Thanks!

Sorry, two more questions for a newbie: