Recovery after iron stain removal

GBDove

Feb 18, 2018
Bolivia, NC
I'm new to TFP, but have been treating my pool for several years. I had a yellow stain on my pool walls, which I identified as iron using ascorbic acid. I decided to treat it with Stain Free (Citric Acid).It required pool chemistry as follows: pH 7.2-7.6, TA 80-120 PPM, CH 200-400 PPM, CYA below 50 PPM, phosphates < 100 PPB, FC =< 1 ppm. I brought my pool chemistry to these requirements and added the Stain Free and turned off the pump for the evening. The stains were gone by morning, and I added Metal free and vacuumed the pool and backwashed as prescribed. I added Polyquat 60 to protect against algae. I also have a CuLator pouch in my skimmer basket. I am trying to bring the FC back up to 1 to 3 ppm, but have added a gallon of Clorox with no effect. The following chemistry was recorded most recently: FC-0.5ppm, pH-7.2, Temp.-82 deg. F, TA-60ppm, CH-275 ppm, CYA-90, CC-0 ppm. The label says not to shock the pool for a week. I am concerned that the low FC will invite algae back into the pool. Should I sit back an relax for a few more days before shocking the pool, and if so, what should I use to shock it?

You definitely need chlorine in there. Just don't go to shock level. Shock level for your pool with CYA at 90 would be 35 PPM. If that Stain Free is similar to ascorbic acid, it will probably take a decent amount of chlorine before the FC starts to hold. Try putting in 8 to 10 PPM of FC and check it a couple of times a day. It will disappear rather quickly while it neutralizes the citric acid in the pool. Just keep topping it back up. Eventually it will start to hold and then you can go back to normal chlorination. Be sure to turn off your SWG while you do this and use only liquid chlorine to increase your FC level. SWG's are not meant to bring the FC level up from a low number. They are slow and steady and ideally just replace what you lose daily.