Waiting on my test kit...what now?

May 30, 2017
Atkinson, NH
Another lost newbie here [emoji15]

So had the pool opened 6 days ago. They algicide and 2 bags of granular shock. Pool sat not working for another 5 days until they came back and bypassed the heater (a whole other post). So I went to a pool store and they said to add more shock and algicide (I know now) so 2 more algicide and 4 more gallons of liquid shock. Then 2 more bags of granular shock yesterday. 4 more gallons of liquid shock today as the pool store said there was still no chlorine in there!

The pool is a light green and cloudy and I can't see the bottom. Finally realized there was a bunch of leaves in there. Trying to get them all out. What can I do in the meantime until I get my test kit? Relying on the pool store testing until then (yet ignoring their advice still). I've been to 3 and they all say something completely different (advice not tests)!

Should I brush and vacuum now or wait? Dump more shock in there? I hate to wait until the test kit comes...that'll be another week.

Here is pool store results:
FC: 0.2
TC: 0.63
CC: 0.43
pH: 6.6
Hardness: 196
Alk: 35
CYA: 3
Copper: 2
Iron: 0.1
Phosphate 417

It's an 18x36 IG vinyl liner with brand new pump, new Hayward DE filter and paramount in floor system.

Someone please take pity on me and tell me what to do [emoji30][emoji1374]

5a1e43df4df377d1dce3a533c07e37be.jpg

Get the bottom as clean of debris as you can and raise that ph to mid range using borax. No more algaecide. No more shock. Find a sale on plain old bleach and stock up for a SLAM. Buy enough baking soda to raise your TA to 80. I'd also have some extra DE on hand cause you're gonna be cleaning that filter a lot it appears. Use Pool Math and get us a good estimate of how many gallons your pool is. Edit your profile with a signature line listing all your pool equipment. Welcome. No pity here------but we're glad to help.

HI! The first thing you do is breath! :hug: we got ya now!