Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hello from Leander, Central Texas

1. Back To Top    #1

Hello from Leander, Central Texas

Hello,

I'm new to pool maintenance, we had ours built last summer. Filled it in mid August. I have been blindly adding tablets to my chlorinator and occasional liquid chlorine. I test weekly with my Pentair Test kit and adjust as instructed by the builder pool school. I'm not having any water quality issues... yet, but being a curious person I felt like I didn't really have a lot of knowledge about what I was doing and the actual effect it was having. I found this site and have been diligently researching the last week or so. I ordered a k-2006 test kit and expect that to arrive today. My chlorinator was about ready to be refilled this weekend, but I decided to just let that run out and supplement with liquid bleach for right now until I get some more accurate numbers. We'll see what happens when I get those number. I'm hoping my CYA isn't too far out of whack already.
    - Mike

19.8K Gallon IG, Pebble finish, Hayward SwimClear Cartridge Filter, Hayward Tristar Dual Speed Pump, DeltaUV D-80 UV Sanitizer, K-2006, Finished August 2016

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hello from Leander, Central Texas

mww,

Welcome to TFP... A Great resource for all you pool questions..

Thanks for posting,

Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Caldera Spa.

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!!

Ordering an accurate test kit is the first step in taking control and understanding what is going on with our water.

How much of our Pool School have you read? Start with these if you missed them as they are the basis:
    ABCs of Water Chemistry