Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chlorine and pH

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine and pH

First, I promise I did read Pool School and searched and read many previous threads. Sorry, but I think I got even more confused trying to digest it all. Just need some guidance for a couple next steps.
    Pool info is in signature line.
    I'm a part-year resident and had a supposedly weekly pool guy. We just let him go when we returned because he wasn't showing up. He said no worry, pool was in great shape...clear water, etc etc., but I decided to take over pool care. As reco'd here, I ordered a TF 100 test kit. Just checked water with the R-0600 for chlorine and R-0014 for pH. Chlorine color was brown and pH dark purple, both off-the-scale high. I checked the floating puck chlorinator and it had 3 pucks in it. Seems his approach was add a ton of chlorine and come back every so often.
    I removed the chlorinator and now trying to decide what the most sensible next steps are. Additional tests? Chlorine reducer? Muriatic acid? Sorry to be asking, the info here is really great, but I'm just a bit overwhelmed as I start into this.
    Notes...water T is 50-55deg, pool uncovered, I reset pump to run 5hrs/day@2650rpm and cleaned the filter, water is clear, pool surfaces are totally clean.

EDIT: Just took sample to pool store. Their test indicates very high solids, high pH (told to add 3 cups acid), and "perfect" chlorine level. I'm now really confused. Back to Pool School....
    DanL, Las Vegas NV
    IG, 2009, 15kGal, 1.5kGal overflow spa, plaster, Pentair system, 420 cartridge filter, Intelliflow 4-160 main pump, Whisperflow feature pump, Poolvergneugen Pool vacuum, liquid chlorine and sometimes pucks, TF-100 test kit, city water autofill, gas heater, Aquatherm Ecosun solar 480sqft, EZ Touch panel with remote, system: Trouble Free Pool

2. Back To Top    #2

TFP Guide

Re: Chlorine and pH