New Member & New to Pool Ownership - Seeking Advice

Dec 5, 2016
Liberty Texas
I'm new to pool ownership and will soon be a proud owner of a 'finished' pool.

This is a long post to describe the situation I have with my pool install here in central TX.

My wife and I contracted to have a fiberglass in-ground pool installed. Dimensions are 15 x 35 and a 6.6' depth raising to a shallow ledge 6" deep. The pool was selected for it has (albeit short) a swim lane. The site is mostly flat with about a 2' grade difference from the north to the south end of the pool. The pool parallels the house and is about 38 feet from the existing structure. We elected to add an automatic roll cover on the pool (prep only) and the pool will have a 25 x 45 x 10' fabric shade canopy covering the entire pool. The hot sun of Texas summers will no longer deter us from using the pool at will. besides my wife has already a pre-cancerous growth removed because of sun exposure.

This is where the pool installer has the opportunity to shine, but fell short of our expectations. Poor communication and lack of any project management experience were our first signs, followed by almost no customer service. We were working with multiple subs to get the pool project completed and needed to coordinate the subs in the most efficient manner. The project subs were supposed to work parallel, but the pool builder either did not show or tried to delay their activities. OK we got around this delay.

I have a checkpoint where I took a complete look at the project and made a list of over 10 items the pool installer needed to address or correct. Here are the obvious items which I need advice:

• The pool installer wants to back out of the contract before installing the concrete deck and refund us the difference for the deck. He stated that," time is money and we are costing him money." this was because of rain delays and contractors not being available.