Two sets of jets inoperative

argiopeweb

Feb 20, 2023
North Florida
Greetings, all,
I've recently purchased a property with a hot tub. I have no prior hot tub experience, so I'm firmly in the "don't know what I don't know" zone. I know it has a Balboa 3-button panel and a single 1.5HP pump. I have no other brand or model information (your guess appreciated). Image follows.

PXL_20230220_214319236.jpg

There are 4 sets of jets (plus feet and the large jet near the filter [does that have a proper name?]) The two on the right of the image (farthest from the control panel on the left) have 5 jets. The remaining two (nearer the control panel) have three. The air control valves near 5 and 12 o'clock in the image control the air to the 5-jet seats/foot jets and the large jet, respectively. Excepting the two sets of three jets, all work fine. The valve near 8 o'clock appears to do nothing.

My problem is the two sets of jets (the two three-jet seats near the control panel) that just don't do anything. Since the image was taken, I've removed the remaining jet bodies, refilled, and confirmed that the jets aren't off/disabled/etc. I was able to backflow the jets near the bottom of the image with a hose and observe water coming from the three jets at the top of the image; however, they don't appear to flow with the pump on high or low.

Can anyone help with an ID on the tub, troubleshooting for the dead jets, or the name of the big jet near the filter?

Thanks!

Last edited:
The big jet near the filter looks like a turbo jet - when turned on it kinda creates a whirlpool.
On mine it must be removed from the inside & you cannot buy peices of it only the whole thing.
This tub looks similar to one of these, perhaps an older model?
Do you see a label anywhere inside the cabinet ?
Something like this?
7C98EA1B-6D33-4113-A611-1C5D1FEEADC7.jpeg
Or on the heater/pump?
EB0B105B-2E01-4A36-966E-8E74F603AC0F.jpeg