Aug 8, 2022
Turkey
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
Hello

This is my first year with my saltwater pool with a chlorine generator and a PH dosing pump. I am experimenting with chlorine, pH, TA levels. I think I am getting better at it. My pool is an overflow type, roughly 24,000 gallons, outdoor private usage in summer with plenty of sunlight.

My understanding so far is that under my current setup I still need to shock chlorine my pool every other week. I wasn’t informed about this when I made my purchase decision. Now I am thinking maybe I should have gone with an Ozone generator solution.

If we ignore the part and installation costs and focus only on near automatic maintenance of the pool and swimmer health, should I:

A) add an Ozone generator as main sanitizer to the existing set up and tune down the chlorine generator
B) add an Ozone generator and a liquid chlorine dosage pump to maintain minimum chlorine levels and get rid of the salt water (basically sweet water)
C) add an Ozone pump, get rid of salt water, and manage minimum chlorine levels manually with chlorine tablets or other solid or liquid chlorine products

Someone actually asked me why I didn’t opt for option C from the beginning. Interestingly during the shopping stage nobody offered this solution, but it sounds very viable and costs would have been very similar to my current setup. Anyhow I don’t want to digress.