karose7

Mar 9, 2023
Leander, Texas
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I need help with next steps. (i.e., do I add chlorine first, or lower pH?)
I'm new to TFP and just now learning the basics - thanks to Leslie's chlorine tablets (high CYA). I finally drained/filled my pool enough to get the CYA down from over 200+ to around 50. Now I need to know what to do next/first.
Here are my current test results (if I did them correctly):
FC - 0.0
CC - 0.0
pH - 8+
TA - 190
CH - 210
CYA - 50
*Should I take a sample to Leslie's to compare their results with mine?

I've also attached some photos. I have a nasty algae along the walls and floating in the water. I've removed as much as possible and have a new filter on order.

IMG_0189.jpgIMG_0191.jpgIMG_0192.jpgIMG_0194.jpg

So, the SLAM process mentions getting pH in range before starting. Is that correct? I do that first before adding chlorine?

How much time do I allow in between adding chemicals before I test/adjust?

One more question:
The recommended SLAM level for my CYA is "20". Do I take that recommended number and input it into the Pool Math App to get the amount of chlorine I need? (SLAM: Current 0, "Target Free" = 20) Is that how I figure SLAM?

So, the SLAM process mentions getting pH in range before starting. Is that correct? I do that first before adding chlorine?
Correct.
How much time do I allow in between adding chemicals before I test/adjust?
You may want to do a couple iterations to lower the pH. I would add enough acid to lower from 8.2 to 7.2, let the that circulate for 30 minutes, test pH, and repeat until you get to 7.2 pH or near that.

Then go get the liquid chlorine and start adding that to get to SLAM level FC. Just do not add those two items at the exact same time.

The recommended SLAM level for my CYA is "20". Do I take that recommended number and input it into the Pool Math App to get the amount of chlorine I need? (SLAM: Current 0, "Target Free" = 20) Is that how I figure SLAM?