Water level rose after closing - Fiberglass

Rebel-Redbird

Mar 18, 2019
Yorkville, IL
556C0DB8-A15C-4CA0-B897-A4080A7A797B.jpeg
Second year with the pool, but first year closing myself. Watched many a video and read many a thread, and I feel confident about the way I closed the plumbing. We closed about a month ago.

Was putting away some furniture and I got curious since we’ve had unseasonably warm weather, so I took a peek.

Shocked at how high the water level was. I had it pumped below the gizmo when I blew out, capped, and filled with (maybe an overkill amount) of antifreeze. My skimmer is lower than my pad, so I imagine the antifreeze level is keeping water from coming in the top cap, but I’m not an expert.

I should probably use my semi-submersible pump to lower the water level before the freeze comes, correct? Pool info in signature.

I just don’t recall it getting this high last winter, so I’m a little concerned. Thanks for any advise on if I should, and how low, to pump?7589978C-0E4C-4E06-AF37-2358E43A9BE1.jpeg

I check my water level depending on how much rain we get. I drain mine to the bottom or just below the skimmer opening. That gives me about six inches or so to rise back up above the opening. Which if that happens I still have it three or four inches below the cantilever coping. Checked mine on Sunday and it was right in the middle of the skimmer. I drained about four inches since it was a nice day and won’t have to worry about for awhile.

I check my water level depending on how much rain we get. I drain mine to the bottom or just below the skimmer opening. That gives me about six inches or so to rise back up above the opening. Which if that happens I still have it three or four inches below the cantilever coping. Checked mine on Sunday and it was right in the middle of the skimmer. I drained about four inches since it was a nice day and won’t have to worry about for awhile.