Using solar panels to heat up a pool

Melle

Jul 28, 2019
South-Holland
Dear forum,

I'm new to this pool life and last year we've had a beautiful sunny summer (temperatures of 30+ degrees Celcius). Our pool got up to a temperature of 30 degrees Celcius, which obviously brings the needed care with it, but was well worth it. For this year we would like to achieve (sort of) the same temperature, even though we might not have the same weather.

Would solar panels help us to warm up a 15000-gallon pool significantly and effectively with an average weather temperature (mostly without clouds) of 23-25 degrees Celcius or would this just be a waste of cash (looking at the actual rise in water temperature and the time that it will take)?

I would love to hear some experiences with warming up a larger pool with solar panels. Thanks! :D

Last edited:
Hi Melle,
That's a bit of a tough question to answer. I've had solar heating on all my pools, across several states in Australia and each one was different due to climate. You also have a larger pool than I have ever owned, so that will vary, but here is my experience.

Solar heating is variable on several things. The size of the system needs to be in direct proportion to your pool surface area and average sunny days. Some brands of heating are also more efficient, panel vs tubing etc. You also need to consider which way your roof faces in relation to sun, does the pool itself get shade during the day and will you have a cover on the pool? My thoughts are that you will need 100% of pool surface on the roof in panel. Some manufacturers say up to 70%, but again, it will depend on how much sun you get.