Troubleshooting a Jandy LXi heater

Marc-Y

Oct 23, 2020
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Hello All,

I'm new to pools and this is my first post!

I'm an engineer so I am reasonably handy.

My new home came with a Jandy LXi gas heater model LXI400N manufactured in 2014. The display says the water temperature is 114 degrees when the water is 80 degrees.

The obvious problem is a faulty thermistor. But I tested it and it reads 9.31K Ohms, so the problem is not the thermistor. My only other thought is a faulty controller board.

That part is expensive, so I wanted to know if anyone has any suggestions before I go out and replace it.

Also, it looks like there is a second generation board out there, and my unit has a first generation board (the chip on the board says 4.3). Is there any problem putting a second generation board in my heater?

Thanks!

Hello All,

I'm new to pools and this is my first post!

I'm an engineer so I am reasonably handy.

My new home came with a Jandy LXi gas heater model LXI400N manufactured in 2014. The display says the water temperature is 114 degrees when the water is 80 degrees.

The obvious problem is a faulty thermistor. But I tested it and it reads 9.31K Ohms, so the problem is not the thermistor. My only other thought is a faulty controller board.

That part is expensive, so I wanted to know if anyone has any suggestions before I go out and replace it.

Also, it looks like there is a second generation board out there, and my unit has a first generation board (the chip on the board says 4.3). Is there any problem putting a second generation board in my heater?

Thanks!