trouble passing OCLT--please help

Feb 23, 2011
Northeast OK
I have been using the BBB method for several years now and thought opening this year would be a piece of cake. Our water was not green when I began. Dirty, yes, but nothing like the first year I sought out this forum. We've had so much rain here in OK that I have had to empty water out of our pool 2-3 times and a bunch of it. I feel like it's one step forward and 2 back. My FC results are all over the place. Even back to back tests. Is it possible that my test kit is old? Do things expire?

We are on the 3rd week of slamming. Water has been clear for the past week and a half or so. My results just now:
FC-15
CC-1
TC-16
TA-90
CH-110
PH-7.6
CYA-20-30 (this test is hard for me to read, depending on lighting it could be somewhere in between)

I had started out with a CYA of 40 with the slamming process. We had floated chlorine tablets most of the winter. With all the rain and having to empty water, CYA has dropped. I had also dropped the PH to 7.2 before slamming.

Last evening I tested the FC. It was at 6. I added 3 jugs of bleach to bring it up to 15. I tested after an hour, before bed and the FC was 22.5! How does that happen? Tested again first thing this morning at 6:30am and it was 17.5. So, I am still dropping substantially overnight. Tested again at 10:30am and FC is 15.

A few days ago my CC was only .5. Now it's to 1. I have never seen results all over the place like this before and I am not sure what to do. We brushed the pool Saturday and Sunday (that's not the only times) and I plan to brush again today.

(25,000 gallon above ground pool with sand filter)
NE OK

Sorry to hear that the SLAM has been difficult for you. With the FC loss you are experiencing, as well as the CC of 1ppm, there must still be some algae hiding somewhere.....

Is the ladder in the pool? Are there any lights or other areas that could hide algae? Check the seams of the liner, if they overlap algae can hide in there.