Total Newby with a question

Jdl25

May 21, 2019
Wendell NC
Above ground pool with salt water generator being installed later this month. The guy at the pool store told me I should expect the start up chemicals to cost 1k. I've been reading here and plan to buy a tf100 kit and add what I need. Does that sound like a good plan? Should I expect to pay that much in chemicals? I'm here because I don't want to rely on a pool store,

Welcome to the forum!
Wow!!! How big is your pool?! You will need salt and possibly some CYA.
When you order the TF100 get a salinity test kit and the Speedstir. You will need those.
With the kits, I can't imagine it costing more than $150 or so unless your pool is very large.
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry and consider reviewing the entire Pool School eBook.

That's a good reason to be here!!!

You would have to provide us with more details on your pool for a guesstimate on chemical costs, but pool salt is pretty cheap - you really shouldn't need to add anything else (BE SURE to test your salt levels BEFORE adding salt - you'll be surprised how much is in there!). I converted to salt this year and am very happy that I did!

Follow the advice of the kind folks here and follow the Trouble Free Pool method of maintenance - you will save $$ and headaches AND enjoy a sparkling clean pool!

Great. When you get a chance fill out your signature. Use ours for an example. If you are on a phone, turn it sideways to see the signatures.

To add, say, 2500 ppm salinity to your pool will take 400 lbs of salt. Or 10 bags. I use plain water softener salt and at Home Depot if you buy 10+bags you get a discount. So maybe $50 for salt. You might need some CYA (when you get your test kit do a full set of tests, including salinity) so maybe $20 for that. With test kits (~$30) you are in $200 plus the SWCG.