Total Beginner!

LynnThompson

Jul 11, 2019
East Tennessee
Hello! I’m so glad to have found this community! I’m looking forward to learning all I need to know to maintain our new pool.
I’ve just ordered the test kit. I’m supposed to take a water sample to the pool store today. I’m hesitant. My fancy test kit won’t arrive until Monday, but I’m sure I should put something in my freshly filled from tap pool water before then...
I’m going to check out the forums to find if there is already an answer. Also, thinking about getting the App. I need all the help I can get.
Thanks for being here!

Good morning Lynn and welcome! :wave: When did you fill the pool? Yes, some very basic items will need to be added. New water has no stabilizer (CYA) in it, so you want to use our PoolMath tool to add anough for a CYA goal of at least 30 ppm for now (see below). Maybe more later since it's getting hot. Add some liquid chlorine (aka regular bleach) for a day one goal of 3 ppm, then once the stabilizer is in the water, always balance according to the FC/CYA Levels to prevent cloudiness and algae. Make sure the bleach is regular. Never use Clorox brands and avoid any bleach that say splashless or scented. Finally, for now .... check/adjust pH to ensure it's in the mid-7s. Let the pool store run your first tests, but simpy say thank you and leave. Grab stabilizer from anywhere (i.e. Walmart, Lowe's, HD), and regular bleach from anywhere you wish. You can get the muriatic acid (to lower pH) from the pool store for now if you wish. The pH test is about the only thing I would use from the pool store for now.

Remember, never add bleach and muriatic acid at the same time. Also, store the muriatic acid outside in a plactic container away from pets, children, and anything metal. It will be fine in heat & cold. I use a Rubbermaid container, others might use a placstic trash can.