Bronze Supporter
Mar 9, 2018
Central California
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine

If above doesn't play, here is the direct link to video. Please see it for the noise I'm getting. The 7-year-old pump motor is getting noisy and seems to be leaking a little. Is it time for me to get a new motor?

I've got a Sta-Rite P4E6D-186L with PLM150 cartridge filter that is quite old but working. 7-8 years ago, the motor, USQ1072 was replaced with QC1072 by a pool store. So, this motor is 7 to 8 years old.

As I am trying to buy and replace by myself, some places don't ship to California due to Title 20 or something. However, the pool store who sold me the motor & installed it for me said, it's for motors above 1 HP and mine is only 0.75HP which should be fine. I probably need to spend more time searching.

With a direct replacement and DIY, is there any other parts I should replace as well? Kind of nervous since I have never done it before. However, I am trying to save the labor which ended up being about $500 locally here to minimize the cost. Thank you very much.

Attachments

• Filter.JPG
    Filter.JPG
    788.9 KB · Views: 12
  • Motor.JPG
    Motor.JPG
    362.1 KB · Views: 11
  • Pump.JPG
    Pump.JPG
    372.6 KB · Views: 12
  • Timer.JPG
    Timer.JPG
    477 KB · Views: 10

If above doesn't play, here is the direct link to video. Please see it for the noise I'm getting. The 7-year-old pump motor is getting noisy and seems to be leaking a little. Is it time for me to get a new motor?

I've got a Sta-Rite P4E6D-186L with PLM150 cartridge filter that is quite old but working. 7-8 years ago, the motor, USQ1072 was replaced with QC1072 by a pool store. So, this motor is 7 to 8 years old.