Testing bromine levels after a shock treatment

brandonc

Nov 4, 2021
Somerville, MA
I'm new to maintaining a hot tub. I've also built the top myself, which was a it's own journey and a story for another time.

I sanitize with granulated bromine, and some slow dissolve bromine tablets in a floater. My pH is in spec.

I've shocked my tub with a non-chlorine shock three times since I got it back up and running a few weeks ago. I'm shocking based on the product advice, which says to apply it every 5 to 7 days. When I apply the shock, the brome levels test very high for a few hours. I test with a Taylor hit. I understand the initial high reading to be normal. What happens next, I don't know what to make of. For about a day, sometimes more, the test will indicate total bromine to be at the highest level which is 10-20ppm. Sometimes the color even looks darker than the scale. Then after a few seconds the test sample will lighten up and then stabilize.

Which reading do I trust? Do I trust the reading immediately after adding the reagents and mixing the sample, or the one after a few seconds pass? Is it possible I don't need to add as much shock as the instructions say? Do I not need to shock at all, or perhaps adjust my sanitization schedule and method?

Which Taylor kit are you using and which reagents for testing? Are they the pink DPD reagents or the yellow OTO reagents?

I am using the Taylor K-2005 kit. The reagents make a pink color are DPD R-0001 and R0002.

Ok. Those test reagents will bleach out above 10ppm FC or 22.5ppm bromine. What you’re seeing is the color go deep pink/red and then bleach out back to a lower value. You can’t measure shock levels that high. As well, any residual MPS will add to the total oxidizer level.

If you want to measure bromine levels that high, then you need a different Taylor kit. Specifically the FAS-DPD titrating reagents as well as the MPS interference removal reagents.