Solar System Basics

DucPool

Mar 23, 2019
Bay Area, California
My pool is currently under construction by my licensed pool contractor and I'm looking to do the solar heating portion my self. I'm having them upgrade the control panel to a Jandy Aqualink PDA and the pump to a variable speed Jandy stealth pro series pump. From my research the Jandy is capable of controlling the solar among other things, but it is just the controller.

Aside from a 3 way valve with actuator and a temperature sensor kit, is anything else required for controls?

TEMPERATURE SENSORS:

From what I've read there are typically 2 sensors, 1 on the intake from the pool and 1just down stream of the solar collectors, is this correct? From this the controller and see if there is enough temperature rise to continue running the pump or to see if the incoming pool water has reached the set temperature.

If anyone has a decent resource online please send me that way.

I

Duc

Welcome to TFP.

I'm not an expert on this stuff but I did install my own Jandy iAqualink 2.0 RS automation system. In my case I had the solar installed before I added Jandy automation so it uses an independent Hayward Goldline solar controller. You are correct that you will use 2 temp sensors to determine the temp difference on the outlet of the panels to the pool return temp. The temp difference determines the position of your solar by-pass valve. This way if you have a dark cloud and rain pass over the control will close the bypass valve so you don't cool off the pool. It can also be used to cool the pool at night if it gets too hot.