Sandylea

Jul 25, 2021
Texas
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hello! It’s my first time posting here. Pool is a little over a year old , plaster, 17k gallons, cartridge filter, variable speed pump, and this is my first attempt at a SLAM

I have noticed some mustard algae growth on the walls of the shady sides of my pool. I am able to brush it off, but it returns within a couple of days. I started the SLAM process on Monday morning (8/8). I have dumped about 20 gallons of liquid chlorine (12.5%) in over the past 60 hours, brushed daily, ran vacuum (Dolphin M400) 3 times daily for the past 3 days, pump has been on the entire time.

CYA 70 (I know this is high, but I will wait until we aren’t in a drought to partially drain my pool)

CC has always been .5 or zero

Water is (and always has been) crystal clear

I am having trouble getting my FC above 25. I have been adding chlorine every 3-4 hours and it just keeps staying around 25. Pool gets full sun for about 5 hours and it has been 100 degrees (but it did rain yesterday and today). I did get the FC up to 29 yesterday, but a few hours later it went down to 25. Could my cartridge filter (possibly dirty- haven’t checked, but will tomorrow) be eating away at my chlorine? Is there a point where the FC won’t rise/ stay any higher than a certain point (25 in my case)? I did let the FC get to zero at one point (shortly before I noticed the algae growth). Just wondering if this is an absurd amount of chlorine to be adding to a very clean looking pool?
Thank you! This forum is SO helpful!