Skimmer doesn't seem to be working well

Apr 5, 2018
Carrollton, TX
Let me start off by saying I'm still fairly new to pool maintenance. This is our first home with a pool, and while we lived here about 6 months now, I still feel like I have a lot to learn.
I've noticed that the skimmer basket no longer catches much debris. After a windy day (or any day really), I come home from work to a pool littered with floating leaves and other junk, and the top of the water just looks kind of dirty in general. I find myself spending a lot of time skimming manually. The basket does not really seem to catch much debris these days. Here is a summary of the type of pool and equipment:

• IG concrete pool with aquabright eco finish
  • 1.5 HP single speed pump
  • Hayward C3025 cartridge filter
  • Suction side cleaner/vacuum (connected via side port in pool wall) which I normally leave in the pool 24x7 (except if the pool is being used)
    • Cleaner suction seems strong and the cleaner is able to walk up the walls, keeps bottom of pool clean, etc.
  • There is a 3-way diverter valve on the suction side labeled Main Drain and Cleaner ( MD+Vacuum.jpg)
    • The Cleaner side seems to be for the side wall port only (best I can tell)
    • The Main Drain side seems to be for the skimmer (best I can tell)
  • There is a 3-way diverter on the return side which serves the eyelets and the waterfall.
    • I normally keep the waterfall shut off using the 3-way diverter valve (Return+Waterfall.jpg)

I noticed there are two openings at the bottom of the skimmer (Skimmer bottom.jpg), with what I believe is referred to as a diverter flap. Best I can tell, one opening is a line to the two drains at the bottom of the pool and the other is the suction line back to the pump. Only one of the holes seem to have suction on it anyway. The screw holding the flap was also fairly loose so the flap kind of moved around when the pump was off and I would take the basket in/out, etc.