Sick of Pool Store SalesMan, Thinking of Going to BBB???

Dont get me wrong I read ALOT before posting. Hence my reason for returning the Prestine blue, and going to the BBB. But, its a learning curve as well. I am still learning the abbreviations for terms and stuff. Again, I am ordering a testing kit come wednesday, I have to wait till my husbands pay period. I just thought getting some bleach in the pool wont hurt. Or maybe I am wrong.

To add on to what others have said, you do really need the test, or you are flying blind, until then the best you can do is add some bleach and use your test kit to make sure you have some chlorine in the water. As you know your test kit will only read up to 5 ppm, which is likely below shock level, so for now since we know you have something growing in the water, but no idea of your levels, the best advice I can give you is buy some bleach. Add enough bleach to hopefully shock get to around 10 ppm, and test with your kit diluting your sample 1:1 with chlorine free water (tap water or bottled water should be close enough to chlorine free for our purposes) then multiply your results by 2, keep it at this level until you water clears up, then lower it down to around 3 ppm using your test kit as you normally do. This again flying half way blind and may not work, may not get everything, but should keep it from getting worse, and should be safe from bleaching out your liner.

Ike

p.s. assuming your pool is about 13500 gallons (24 ft round with 48 inches of water in it) 1 gallon of 6% bleach will raise your free chlorine by 4.6 ppm, so if nothing was there to consume it 2.25 gallons would put you just over 10 ppm, which I would suggest you start with and go from there, retesting an hour after adding the bleach while the pump is running (add bleach by slowly pouring in front of one of the return jets) knowing something is growing in the pool means it will not really stay at 10 ppm for long

edit: oops bad math