Salt water chlorine generator--standard recommendations for levels?

Nigel459

Mar 9, 2019
Ontario
Hi all,

I've been using the "Chlormaker" SWCG for a couple of months now and it's been awesome. Absolutely no issues. With my size spa--smallish at 285 g--"setting 3" has been rock steady at 2.5-3 ppm FC; and "setting 4" puts it always at 4-5ppm.

My CYA is 30, as calculated by dichlor additions after a fresh fill.

With the FC at 3, I'd say we don't notice any chlorine at all. At 5ppm we do notice it verrrry slightly, particularly as an odour on the skin after getting out.

I see that with SWCG pools, the recommended CYA is 70+.

I'm considering trying to bump up my CYA even though it's a covered spa. I know that "buffers" the FC, but does it affect the post-soak feel/odour?

I don't see any recommendations for CYA levels in SWCG spas--am I missing them somewhere? Thanks!

There would not be a need for you to increase your CYA and thus FC levels. The higher CYA is recommended to overcome the slow FC addition and the losses to the sun.

3ppm FC at 30ppm would be equivalent to 6ppm FC at 60ppm in terms of "harshness"

I think you could dial your SWG back a bit and try for a lower FC since your CYA is lower.

Thanks--appreciate the input.

The reason I'm asking (should have said so first) is that when I run the unit at the setting that keeps it at 2.5-3ppm FC (which we prefer), after a longer soak the FC is sometimes completely used up. It does the trick for us usually but after longer soaks or with a third person I do need to add bleach.

When we run it at the setting that keeps 5ppm the FC hangs in and never gets all used up before it can regenerate, even longer soaks. (Unless it's a real crowd/party/etc. of course.)