Dan Prokosch

Jun 27, 2021
Maplewood, MN
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
we have a 24' above ground/deep end doughboy pool, have had it since we bought our house 22 years ago. I've replaced liners twice, installed a heater, replaced basically everything a couple of times, so I'm not a newbie to pool functions, but I'm wondering about SWG conversions and the economies of doing so. I'm in MN so we have about a 5 month pool season even with the heater.

my basic question is how long do the electrodes last? I'm happy to install an SWG system myself, but if the electrodes only last a couple of years, does it really pay for itself? what's the break even point? how are warranties? Just wondering if it's worth the investment. Thanks in advance...

From what I have read on other posts an SWG costs about the same of the LC you would be using with the advantage it will add chlorine form the salt on you water (less work), but with the cost upfront.

A SWG cell will last an amount of chlorine generated. So an oversized cell will last longer per dollar than a smaller one. Also when the cell eventually fail you can replace just the cell.

Other folks with experience on SWG will certainly be able to give you a better explanation.

Unit is rated at 180w max, so roughly 1kwh of electricity is used for generation, my local cost is 12 cents per day (or $3.60 per month)

Reactions: AK-
thanks for the replies. it's a tough sell for me if I'm ballparking $200 for chlorine this year. I first looked into this 6-8 years ago and it was $1000 up front and I was only spending $100/yr on chlorine, I really think even with chlorine prices spiking this year the economics are not quite there...

1624846307348.png

Reactions: Rich807
If your pool is smaller, it would take you longer time to break even.

I am using the retail price on the calculation.