Public Pool Test Results

Dtkokay

Dec 31, 2019
Houston, Texas
Resurrecting an old thread:

I just tested my gym’s indoor pool water with my new TF-100 kit. I have to preface by saying this is my first time ever testing pool water, but I think I did everything correctly.

pH: 7.5 using the Taylor visual test. 7.43 using a digital pH meter.
Salt using test strips: around 3,100. Seems like a pretty clear indication this is a SWCG pool?
FC = 5.0
CC = 0
CYA = 0. I tried this a few times and could always see the black dot crystal clear in the vial. At first I was alarmed, assuming I did the test correctly and my reagent isn’t too old, but a post above suggests that indoor pools don’t necessarily need CYA?

The water in my gym is typically a little cloudy.

Anyone see a problem with the numbers above?

Last edited by a moderator:
Public pools are often forbidden to use CYA. They usually run the FC lower.

Can't assume that is a salt pool because *every* chemical added leaves residual salt behind and it builds up over time.

If the pool is cloudy they need to address it. Indoor pools sometimes use alternative systems in addition to chlorine, such as ozone or UV, since they don't get the sun's UV to help oxidize the choramines (cooties) away.

Maddie :flower:

Salt using test strips: around 3,100. Seems like a pretty clear indication this is a SWCG pool?
Not necessarily. Chlorine, acid, humans all leave salt behind, which builds up over time. My pool tested like that before I ever added salt for my SWG. And test strips are notoriously unreliable, so there's that, too.

Two quick things come to mind,
1. How many gallons is this?
2. When you said it’s cloudy, just how bad are we talking here??

Thanks for the feedback. I’m new to pool water quality and didn’t know much about it until we looked at getting a pool for the house (contract signed 2 weeks ago).