Pentair filter unit replacement options.

Dec 9, 2014
Corona CA
I have a salt pool with a Pentair Clean and Clear plus. I believe the pool was done around 07 based of dates I have found on some of the equipment. The filter unit is the smallest one the offer, my pool guy has said it was for a spa and not a pool of this size.

The filter body has a pin hole and needs to be replaced. What are my options for a larger unit that will drop in place of the current unit. Are all the Pentair bases the same hookup location and just the top portion gets larger? I don’t mind going with the Pentair brand but really dislike where the drain is located. Even though I have a pool guy for the convenience part of week to week chemistry I do all the filter cleaning and repairs

I use the pool almost daily so I would rather over filter than under.

Sorry for the total noob questions. I searched on google and YouTube with not much luck.

Are all the Pentair bases the same hookup location and just the top portion gets larger?
Yes, exactly. All the CCP bases & clamps are the same.
I don’t mind going with the Pentair brand but really dislike where the drain is located.
I never open the drain on mine; I suck the bottom debris out with a shop vac. I don't want that crud spilling onto my equipment pad and I don't trust the drain plug to go back in right.
I have a pool guy for the convenience part of week to week chemistry I do all the filter cleaning and repairs
The "week to week chemistry" is the easy part. Except you can and should do it yourself using a proper test kit and more often than weekly.

W,

Show us a pic of what you have now.. It appears to me there are at least two different styles of Clean and Clear filters... Both have different input and output locations.

We always suggest that you get the biggest cartridge filter you can afford.. You can never go too big with a filter. The bigger the filter, the less often it will need to be cleaned.

Thanks,

Jim R.

RJS,